COUNCIL

At the Annual meeting of the Council on Friday, 6 June 2014 in the Council Chamber, Runcorn Town Hall

Present: Councillors Cassidy, Baker, M. Bradshaw, J. Bradshaw, D. Cargill,
E. Cargill, Cole, Dennett, Edge, J. Gerrard, Gilligan, Harris, R. Hignett, S. Hill,
V. Hill, Horabin, Howard, Jones, Lea, M. Lloyd Jones, P. Lloyd Jones, Logan,
C. Loftus, K. Loftus, A. Lowe, J. Lowe, MacManus, McDermott, A. McInerney,
T. McInerney, Morley, Nelson, Nolan, Osborne, Parker, Philbin, Polhill,
N. Plumpton Walsh, Ratcliffe, Joe Roberts, June Roberts, Rowe, Sinnott,
G. Stockton, J. Stockton, Thompson, Wainwright, Wallace, Wharton, Woolfall,
Wright and Zygadllo

Apologies for Absence: Councillors Fraser, Fry, P. Hignett and C. Plumpton Walsh

Absence declared on Council business: None

Officers present: M. Reaney, A. Scott, D. Johnson, I. Leivesley, G. Meehan and D. Parr

Also in attendance: Twenty two members of the public and invited guests

COU1 ELECTION OF MAYOR AND DEPUTY MAYOR

Action

Moved by Councillor Wright and seconded by Councillor Philbin –

RESOLVED: That Councillor Shaun Osborne be elected Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2014/15.

Moved by Councillor Cole and seconded by Councillor Howard –

RESOLVED: That Councillor Ellen Cargill be elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2014/15.

THE MAYOR, COUNCILLOR SHAUN OSBORNE IN THE CHAIR

COU2 COUNCIL MINUTES

The minutes of the meetings of Council held on 9 April 2014, having been printed and circulated, were taken as read and signed as a correct record. RESOLVED: That the minutes of the meetings be confirmed and adopted.

COU3 THE MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor made the following announcements:-

- 1) That the Charities he would support during his term of office would be:
 - The Lilac Centre;
 - Halton Carer's Centre; and
 - Nightstop Communities Northwest.
- 2) The Mayor's Chaplain for 2014/15 would be Reverend Raymond Jones.
- COU4 BOROUGH COUNCIL ELECTION RESULTS AND EUROPEAN PARLIAMENTARY ELECTION RESULTS FOR HALTON - 22 MAY 2014

Details of the Borough Council election results held on 22 May 2014 and the European Parliamentary Election results for Halton only, held on 22 May 2014 were submitted for information.

RESOLVED: That the election results be noted.

COU5 EXECUTIVE BOARD (SELECTION COMMITTEE) 3 JUNE 2014

The following recommendations of the Executive Board (Selection Committee) were moved by the Mayor and seconded by the Deputy Mayor.

COU6 DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL 2014/15

RESOLVED: That Councillor Mike Wharton be appointed as the Deputy Leader for the Municipal Year 2014/15.

COU7 BOARDS, COMMITTEES, APPEALS PANEL AND WORKING PARTY

RESOLVED: That the Boards, Committees, Appeals Panel and Working Party be constituted with the membership as shown for the Municipal Year 2014/15:

Health & Wellbeing Board(4)

Councillors Polhill, Philbin, Woolfall and Wright.

Corporate Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Gilligan (Chairman), A. Lowe (Vice Chairman,) E. Cargill, Dennett, S Hill, C. Loftus, A. McInerney, N. Plumpton Walsh, Joe Roberts, Rowe and Wainwright.

Health Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors E. Cargill (Chairman), J. Lowe (Vice Chairman), Baker, M. Bradshaw, Dennett, Gerrard, Horabin, M. Lloyd Jones, C Loftus, Sinnott and Wallace.

Environment and Urban Renewal Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Woolfall (Chairman), Fry (Vice Chairman), Fraser, .P Hignett, V. Hill, C. Loftus, MacManus, Morley, Sinnott, G.Stockton and Zygadllo.

Employment, Learning, Skills and Community Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Edge (Chairman), MacManus (Vice Chairman), Baker, Cassidy, Howard, P. Lloyd Jones, Logan, Parker, C. Plumpton Walsh, Ratcliffe and Joe Roberts.

Children, Young People and Families Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Dennett (Chairman), Logan (Vice Chairman), Cassidy, P. Hignett, Horabin, K. Loftus, A. McInerney, C. Plumpton Walsh, June Roberts, J. Stockton and Woolfall.

Safer Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Thompson (Chairman), Lea (Vice Chairman), Edge, Gerrard, Gilligan, V. Hill, M. Lloyd Jones, Nolan, Ratcliffe, Sinnott and Zygadllo.

Development Control Committee (13)

Councillors Nolan (Chairman), Morley (Vice Chairman), Cole, R. Hignett, S. Hill, C. Plumpton Walsh, June Roberts, Rowe, J. Stockton, Thompson, Wainwright, Woolfall, and Zygadllo.

Business Efficiency Board (11)

Councillors Joe Roberts (Chairman), M. Lloyd Jones (Vice Chairman), J.Bradshaw, Cole, Fry, Lea, A. Lowe, MacManus, McDermott, N. Plumpton Walsh, and J. Stockton.

Standards Committee (9)

Councillors P. Lloyd Jones (Chairman) M. Bradshaw, Cassidy, Cole, J. Lowe, McDermott, T. McInerney, Parker and Wainwright.

Appeals Panel (20)

Councillors Wainwright (Chairman), A McInerney (Vice Chairman), Baker, J. Bradshaw, M. Bradshaw, E. Cargill, Edge, Fraser, Gerrard, Gilligan, S. Hill, V. Hill, Howard, P. Lloyd Jones, K. Loftus, J. Lowe, Morley, Parker, June Roberts and Wallace.

Regulatory Committee (11)

Councillors K. Loftus (Chairman), Wallace (Vice-Chairman), Fraser, Fry, P. Hignett, Howard, Lea, A. Lowe, McDermott, Nelson and G. Stockton.

Local Development Framework Working Party (15)

Councillors R. Hignett (Chairman), J. Bradshaw, Cole, Gerrard, MacManus, Morley, Nolan, Parker, Ratcliffe, C.Plumpton Walsh, Roberts, Thompson, Wainwright, Woolfall and Zygadllo.

Mayoral Committee (5)

The incumbent Mayor (Councillor Osborne) and Councillors Gilligan, Morley, Ratcliffe and Wright .

Appointments Committee (6)

Councillors Polhill and Wharton (plus relevant PPB Chairs x 2) and Opposition Group Leaders (Ratcliffe and J. Bradshaw).

COU8 APPOINTMENT OF SCRUTINY CO-ORDINATOR

RESOLVED: That Councillor Tony McDermott be appointed Scrutiny Co-ordinator for the Municipal Year 2014/15.

COU9 APPOINTMENT OF CO-OPTEE TO THE HEALTH POLICY AND PERFORMANCE BOARD

> RESOLVED: That the appointment of Mr Tom Baker as the Healthwatch Halton representative to the Health Policy and Performance Board for the Municipal Year 2014/15 be confirmed.

COU10 APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

The Council considered a report of the Strategic Director, Policy and Resources, regarding the appointment

of Members to serve on various outside bodies. A document was tabled showing the recommendations put forward.

RESOLVED: That representatives be appointed to outside bodies in accordance with the tabled report.

COU11 EXECUTIVE BOARD PORTFOLIOS

The Leader confirmed that the Executive Board would consist of the following Portfolio holders for the Municipal Year 2014/15:

Leader's – Councillor Polhill Children, Young People and Families– Councillor Philbin Health and Wellbeing – Councillor Wright Transportation– Councillor Tom McInerney Community Safety– Councillor Dave Cargill Economic Development – Councillor Jones Resources – Councillor Wharton Environmental Services– Councillor Nelson Community and Sport – Councillor Harris Physical Environment – Councillor Ron Hignett

RESOLVED: That the Portfolios be noted.

COU12 CIVIC SUNDAY

The Mayor announced his intention to attend a Civic Service at St Paul's Church of England Church, Victoria Square, Widnes on Sunday 22 June 2014 at 9.30am.

COU13 ABSENCE OF AN ELECTED MEMBER

Council was advised that Councillor Frank Fraser had been absent from attending Council meetings due to ill health. In March 2014, Council had resolved to grant him an extended period of absence from attending meetings, which would conclude on 6 June 2014.

All Members wished to send Councillor Fraser their best wishes for a speedy recovery.

RESOLVED: That Councillor Fraser be granted a Chief Executive further period of absence from attending Council meetings, concluding on 15 October 2014.